Southwest Indiana Counties Band Together for Improved Broadband

Improve Broadband Southwest Indiana, Evansville

EVANSVILLE, Ind. (November 13, 2019) – Economic development teams from Vanderburgh, Gibson and Posey Counties have joined forces to bring awareness to the need for improved broadband infrastructure in rural areas of each county.

In the 21st Century, broadband should be considered key infrastructure, yet thousands of residents of Vanderburgh, Posey and Gibson counties do not have the infrastructure needed in place. Lack of high-speed internet not only affects the quality of life for rural residents, but our region’s economic opportunity to attract new business and talent.

“Citizens living in rural Southwest Indiana communities shouldn’t have to make compromises in terms of education, commerce and overall quality of life due to inadequate broadband connection,” stated Vanderburgh County Commissioner, Cheryl Musgrave.  “Working alongside fellow commissioners and their economic development teams has strengthened our regions’ case for improved broadband.”

Without modern broadband internet service, rural residents lack access to healthcare via telemedicine, remote learning, next generation emergency services, video streaming and more.

For rural businesses, improved broadband provides the opportunity to reach global audiences through e-commerce; for farmers to improve efficiencies through agricultural innovation; and remote workers the luxury of working from home.

In August, Indiana Gov. Eric Holcomb announced $22.1 million in funding for rural broadband infrastructure projects in 12 Indiana counties. It was the first dispersion from the state’s $100 million “Next Level Broadband” expansion program. A second round of grant opportunities is expected to be announced, and Southwest Indiana will vie for dollars.

To help make the case for increased broadband infrastructure in southwest Indiana, please complete a quick online survey at concerning your high-speed internet service, or lack of service.    


- 30 -

Media Contacts:
Commissioner Musgrave – 812.428.3833
Ellen Horan – 812.401.4243 or
Audrie Burkett – 812.423.2020 or